In order to understand the kinds and types of golf courses, let’s define what this architectural structure represents. Yes, yes, you heard right – the modern golf courses are a masterpiece of a landscape design. The world simply does not have two identical golf courses. A crowning achievement for golf course architects is to create a field that is as if created by nature itself.

field-mapArea golf courses can range from one to hundreds of hectares. All golf courses are covered with grass, which in various areas has various height to make it difficult to pass through a particular site. That’s why there are various water hazards, sand bunkers, trees and shrubs on golf courses.

ВDepending on a type of a golf course, it can have either nine or eighteen holes which are arranged in a strict order and at specific sites and have a sequence number. Typically, holes are placed on the same line with a starting point. However, there are holes which can significantly bow in one direction or another – they are called “dogleg” (from the English phrase Dog Leg – a dog’s paw).

A starting point, where the player begins the game is called a “tee” (a full name “teeing ground”). “Green” (putting green), by contrast, is the ultimate goal of a golfer – ground with the shortest grass where the hole is located directly. Often green is surrounded by “collar” – it is grass which surrounds the green. It is trimmed shorter than a fairway, but higher than the green.

putting-rules

«Грин» (putting green)

“Fairway” stretches between the starting point and the green – a smooth course with short flat grass. In addition to water and sand hazards on a golf course, you can meet “rough” – tall grass, which, in practice, is not trimmed. It is very difficult to strike the ball out of the trap.

Talking about the types of golf courses, they are classified by three categories:

  • links
  • parkland
  • hitland

fields

Links are the eldest and most traditional types of golf courses. Examples of these ancient courses remained until nowadays – the majority of them are located in Scotland, England, and Ireland.

Links golf courses are located near sea, very often among dunes. These courses almost do not have trees and have few water hazards. They have a wavy landscape and great length. Grass cover of links is hard and scant, that is why a ball on such course has a good snap back.

However, there are more difficulties for a player on a links golf course. Fairways on links are uneven, bunkers are small and deep (at the same time, they cannot be easily seen). Roughs have thin and high grass, what makes the play more difficult. Moreover, coastal wind, which is inevitable on links, can mix the cards of even a professional player.

Park courses – courses more typical to our latitude. They are located far from sea and remind a big lawn with many trees.

The name “desert courses” speaks for itself. Such golf courses are located in open air with sand ground with shrubs. These courses have less trees than park courses.

Golf simulators
Available Golf Tours

Для того чтобы разобраться, какие существуют виды и типы полей для игры в гольф, давайте определимся, что же из себя представляет это архитектурное сооружение. Да да, вы не ослышались – современные поля для гольфа это настоящий шедевр ландшафтного дизайна. В мире просто не существует двух одинаковых полей для гольфа. А высшим достижением для архитекторов гольф полей является создание такого поля, которое как будто бы создано самой природой.

field-mapПлощадь поля для гольфа может варьироваться от одного до сотни гектаров. Всё поле для гольфа засеяно травой, которая на разных участках имеет различную высоту, что бы затруднить прохождение той или иной площадки. Так же именно для этого на поле существуют различные водные водяные преграды, песчаные бункеры, деревья и кустарники.

В зависимости от типа, на гольф поле может быть либо девять, либо восемнадцать лунок, которые размещены в строгом порядке на специальных площадках и имеют свой порядковый номер. Обычно лунки располагаются на одной линии со стартовой площадкой. Однако существуют лунки, которые могут значительно откланяться в ту или иную сторону – они имеют название «доглег» (от английского словосочетания Dog Leg – собачья лапа).

Стартовая площадка, откуда игрок начинает свою игру, имеет название «ти» (более полное название “teeing ground”). «Грин» (putting green), напротив, является конечной целью гольфиста – это площадка с самой короткой травой, на которой непосредственно расположена лунка. Зачастую грин окружает «воротник» (collar) – это трава, которая обрамляет грин. Она подстрижена короче фервея, но выше грина.

putting-rules

«Грин» (putting green)

Между стартовой площадкой и грином простирается «фервей» (fairway)  — гладкое поле с короткой ровной травой. Помимо водных и песчаных преград, на поле для гольфа вы можете встретить «раф» (rough) – высокую траву, которая, практически, не подстригается. Выбить мяч из этой ловушки очень сложно.

Если говорить о видах полей для гольфа, то они классифицируется на следующие три категории:

  • линкс (links)
  • парковые (parkland)
  • пустошь (hitland)

fields

Поля линкс являются древнейшими и традиционными видами гольф полей. Примеры многовековых полей этого вида сохранились и до наших дней – основная их масса расположена в Шотландии, Англии и Ирландии.

Поля вида линкс обычно расположены близ моря, часто посреди дюн. Эти поля практически без деревьев и имеют небольшое количество водных препятствий. Они имеют волнистый ландшафт и большую протяжённость. Травяной покров полей линкс жестковат и скуден, поэтому мяч на таком поле имеет хороший отскок.

Но на этом трудности для игрока в гольф на поле вида линкс не заканчиваются. Фервеи на линксах неровные, а бункеры маленькие и глубокие (при чём, они сразу не видны). Рафы имеют тонкую и длинную траву, что значительно усложняет жизнь спортсмену. А прибрежный ветер, который является неизменным спутником полей линкс, способен спутать карты даже самому сильному профи.

Парковые поля – эти поля более типичны для наших широт. Они находятся вдали от моря и напоминают огромную лужайку с большим количеством деревьев.

Название «пустынные поля» говорит само за себя. Гольф поля такого вида находятся на огромной открытой местности с песчаной почвой, на которой растёт кустарник. На этих полях находится меньше деревьев,  чем на парковых.

Гольф-симуляторы
Актуальные гольф-туры